Modified Return to the techdata List

Technical parameters: modification
Improvement of physical and mechanical properties
Compared with other engineering plastics, high molecular weight polyethylene (UHMW-PE) having a low surface hardness heat distortion temperature and flexural strength, and poor creep performance shortcomings. This is influenced by the molecular structure and morphology of ultra-high molecular weight polyethylene (UHMW-PE).It can be improved by filling and crosslinking methods.
Filling modification
Using glass beads, glass fiber, mica, talc, silica, aluminum oxide, molybdenum disulfide, carbon black, etc. on ultrahigh molecular weight polyethylene (UHMW-PE) for modifying, the surface hardness, stiffness, creep resistance, flexural strength, heat distortion temperature can be better improved. After coupling agent treatment, the effect is more pronounced. After filling the treated  glass beads, it can make the heat distortion temperature increase by 30 ℃.
Glass beads, glass fiber, mica, talc, etc. can increase the hardness, stiffness and temperature resistance; molybdenum disulfide, silicone oil and special wax can reduce the self-lubricating property, then further inprove the self-lubrication property; can improve the anti-static. Conductivity and heat resistance can improve by carbon black or metal powder. However, the impact strength decreased slightly after filler modified, if the content is controlled within 40%, ultra-high molecular weight polyethylene (UHMW-PE) still has very high impact strength.
Crosslinking
Crosslinking is to improve the morphological stability, creep resistance and environmental stress cracking resistance. By cross-linking, crystallinity of ultra-high molecular weight polyethylene (UHMW-PE) decreased, masked toughness show again. Crosslinking can be divided into chemical crosslinking and radiation crosslinking. Chemical crosslinking is that  ,after adding the appropriate crosslinking agent in the ultra-high molecular weight polyethylene (UHMW- PE), the cross-linking occurs in the melting process. Radiation crosslinking is the use of electron beam or γ-rays directly to the ultra-high molecular weight polyethylene (UHMW-PE) products for molecular crosslinking irradiation. The Chemical crosslinking of ultra-high molecular weight polyethylene (UHMW-PE) is divided into peroxide crosslinking and coupling agent crosslinking.
Peroxide crosslinking
Peroxide crosslinking process is divided into mixing, molding and crosslinking three steps.When mixing the ultra-high molecular weight polyethylene (UHMW-PE) and superoxide melt blending, ultra-high molecular weight polyethylene (UHMW-PE) produce free radicals under the effect of peroxide, radical coupling and crosslinking.This step is to ensure the temperature not too high, so as to avoid resin crosslinked completely.After mixing, obtaining low crosslinking degree can continue to crosslink ultra-high molecular weight polyethylene (UHMW-PE), under the higher temperature than the mixed molding parts, cross-linking processing again.
After oxide crosslinking, the structure of ultra-high molecular weight polyethylene (UHMW-PE) is different from  thermoplastics, thermosets and vulcanized rubber, it has a body shape that is not completely crosslinking structure, therefore, both of the three characteristics in the performance, namely both hot plasticity and excellent hardness, toughness and resistance to stress cracking properties.
Abroad have been reported with 2,5-dimethyl-2,5 peroxide t-butyl hexyne-3 as the crosslinking agent, but it is difficult to find inland. Tsinghua University conducted a study with cheap and readily available dicumyl peroxide (DCP) as a crosslinking agent and found that: DCP amount is less than 1%, can impact strength than pure high molecular weight polyethylene (UHMW -PE) increased by 15% to 20%, especially DCP amount is 0.25%, the impact strength can be increased by 48%. With the amount of DCP increases, heat distortion temperature increase that can be used to heat pipe in water-based heating systems.
Coupling agent crosslinking
Ultra high molecular weight polyethylene (UHMW-PE) is mainly used two silane coupling agent: vinyl siloxane and allyl vinyl siloxane, are commonly used vinyl trimethoxysilane and vinyl triethoxysilane. Coupling generally rely peroxide initiator, commonly used DCP, organic tin derivatives generally uses to be catalysts.
Forming process of silane crosslinked with ultrahigh molecular weight polyethylene (UHMW-PE) make the thermal decomposition of the peroxide obtain the high chemical activity of free radicals firstly. These free radicals capture the hydrogen atoms from polymer molecule, then the polymer backbone becomes active radicals. Secondly, these active radicals occur grafting reaction with the silane, after grafting, ultra-high molecular weight polyethylene(UHMW-PE) takes place hydrolysis and condensation under the action of water and silanol condensation catalyst   , derived crosslinks to form a silane crosslinking ultra-high molecular weight polyethylene (UHMW-PE).
Radiation crosslinking
Under the effect of certain dose electronic rays or γ rays, parts of the molecular structure of the main chain or side chain in the molecular structure of ultra-high molecular weight polyethylene (UHMW-PE) may be cut by rays, a certain amount of free radicals comes into being. These free radicals combine with each other to form a cross linking chain, so that the macromolecular structure of ultra high molecular weight polyethylene(UHMW-PE) from a linear structure into a net-like macromolecular structure. After a certain dose of radiation, the physical properties of ultra-high molecular weight polyethylene (UHMW- PE), such as creep resistance, immersion oil and hardness, are improved to some extent.
Artificial high molecular weight polyethylene (UHMW-PE) joints radiate with γ-rays, while it is disinfecting,it is in the crosslinked, artificial joint can be enhanced hardness and hydrophilicity, and the creep resistance can be improved, thus extending its life.
Studies have indicated that the PTFE graft combined with irradiation, the wear and creep behavior of ultra-high molecular weight polyethylene(UHMW-PE) can also be improved. This material has a tissue tolerance, suitable for transplantation in vivo.

技术参数:改性 返回技术参数列表

物理机械性能的改进
  与其它工程塑料相比,ope体育ope体育客户端ope手机客户端(UHMW-PE)具有表面硬度和热变形温度低、弯曲强度以及蠕变性能较差等缺点。这是由于ope体育ope体育客户端ope手机客户端(UHMW-PE)的分子结构和分子聚集形态造成的,可通过填充和交联的方法加以改善。
填充改性
  采用玻璃微珠、玻璃纤维、云母、滑石粉、二氧化硅、三氧化二铝、二硫化钼、炭黑等对ope体育ope体育客户端ope手机客户端(UHMW-PE)进行填充改性,可使表面硬度、刚度、蠕变性、弯曲强度、热变形温度得以较好地改善。用偶联剂处理后,效果更加明显。如填充处理后的玻璃微珠,可使热变形温度提高30℃。
  玻璃微珠、玻璃纤维、云母、滑石粉等可提高硬度、刚度和耐温性;二硫化钼、硅油和专用蜡可降低摩擦因数,从而进一步提高自润滑性;炭黑或金属粉可提高抗静电性和导电性以及传热性等。但是,填料改性后冲击强度略有下降,若将含量控制在40%以内,ope体育ope体育客户端ope手机客户端(UHMW-PE)仍有相当高的冲击强度。
交联
  交联是为了改善形态稳定性、耐蠕变性及环境应力开裂性。通过交联, ope体育ope体育客户端ope手机客户端(UHMW-PE)的结晶度下降,被掩盖的韧性复又表现出来。交联可分为化学交联和辐射交联。化学交联是在ope体育ope体育客户端ope手机客户端(UHMW- PE)中加入适当的交联剂后,在熔融过程中发生交联。辐射交联是采用电子射线或γ射线直接对ope体育ope体育客户端ope手机客户端(UHMW-PE)制品进行照射使分子发生交 联。ope体育ope体育客户端ope手机客户端(UHMW-PE)的化学交联又分为过氧化物交联和偶联剂交联。
过氧化物交联
  过氧化物交联工艺分为混炼、成型和交联三步。混炼时将ope体育ope体育客户端ope手机客户端(UHMW-PE)与过氧化物熔融共混,ope体育ope体育客户端ope手机客户端(UHMW-PE)在过 氧化物作用下产生自由基,自由基偶合而产生交联。这一步要保证温度不要太高,以免树脂完全交联。经过混炼后得到交联度很低的可继续交联型ope体育ope体育客户端ope手机客户端 (UHMW-PE),在比混炼更高的温度下成型为制件,再进行交联处理。
  ope体育ope体育客户端ope手机客户端(UHMW-PE)经过氧化物交联后在结构上与热塑性塑料、热固性塑料和硫化橡胶都不同,它有体型结构却不是完全交联,因此在性能上兼有三者的特点,即同时具有热可塑性和优良的硬度、韧性以及耐应力开裂等性能。
  国外曾报道用2,5-二甲基-2,5双过氧化叔丁基己炔-3作交联剂〔11〕,但国内很难找到。清华大学用廉价易得的过氧化二异丙苯(DCP) 作为交联剂进行了研究〔12〕,结果发现:DCP用量小于1%时,可使冲击强度比纯ope体育ope体育客户端ope手机客户端(UHMW-PE)提高15%~20%,特别是DCP 用量为0.25%时,冲击强度可提高48%。随DCP用量的增加,热变形温度提高,可用于水暖系统的耐热管道。
偶联剂交联
  ope体育ope体育客户端ope手机客户端(UHMW-PE)主要使用两种硅烷偶联剂:乙烯基硅氧烷和烯丙基硅氧烷,常用的有乙烯基三甲氧基硅烷和乙烯基三乙氧基硅烷。偶联剂一般要靠过氧化物引发,常用的是DCP,催化剂一般采用有机锡衍生物。
  硅烷交联ope体育ope体育客户端ope手机客户端(UHMW-PE)的成型过程首先是使过氧化物受热分解为化学活性很 高的游离基,这些游离基夺取聚合物分子中的氢原子使聚合物主链变为活性游离基,然后与硅烷产生接枝反应,接枝后的ope体育ope体育客户端ope手机客户端(UHMW-PE)在水 及硅醇缩合催化剂的作用下发生水解缩合,形成交联键即得硅烷交联ope体育ope体育客户端ope手机客户端(UHMW-PE)。
辐射交联
  在一定剂量电子射线或γ射线作用下,ope体育ope体育客户端ope手机客户端(UHMW-PE)分子结构中的一部分主链或侧链可能被射线切断,产生一定数量的游离基,这些游离 基彼此结合形成交联链,使ope体育ope体育客户端ope手机客户端(UHMW-PE)的线型分子结构转变为网状大分子结构。经一定剂量辐照后,ope体育ope体育客户端ope手机客户端(UHMW- PE)的蠕变性、浸油性和硬度等物理性能得到一定程度的改善。
  用γ射线对人造ope体育ope体育客户端ope手机客户端(UHMW-PE)关节进行辐射,在消毒的同时使其发生交联,可增强人造关节的硬度和亲水性,并且使耐蠕变性得以提高〔13〕,从而延长其使用寿命。
  有研究〔14〕表明,将辐照与PTFE接枝相结合,也可改善ope体育ope体育客户端ope手机客户端(UHMW-PE)的磨损和蠕变行为。这种材料具有组织容忍性,适于体内移植。